Brian Jiang CC’23 and Karen Copeland SEAS’23 Named Churchill Scholars

Brian Jiang CC’23 and Karen Copeland SEAS’23 have been named 2023-24 Churchill Scholars, the first time that Columbia has seen two Scholars named in the same year. Brian and Karen are among 18 Churchill Scholars who were selected: 16 Scholars were selected in science, math and engineering fields; two Kanders Churchill Scholars were selected in science policy for the 2023-2024 academic year. Established in 1963 at the request of Sir Winston Churchill, the Churchill Scholarship was inspired by Churchill’s vision for a US-UK partnership that would support the advancement of science and technology in both countries. The Churchill Scholarship provides funding for one year of postgraduate study at Churchill College, Cambridge.