Getting Down to Basics

2020 ACM Turing awardees Alfred Aho and Jeffrey Ulman discuss their work and how it continues to influence new computer scientists.

Alfred Aho Wins the 2020 ACM Turing Award

Alfred V. Aho, Lawrence Gussman Professor Emeritus of Computer Science, has won the 2020 Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) A.M. Turing Award, known informally as the “Nobel Prize of computing.” Professor Aho is being recognized for fundamental algorithms and theory underlying programming language implementation and for synthesizing these results and those of others in highly influential books that educated generations of computer scientists.