Old Core Requirement


Students who first enrolled in Spring 2014 or earlier may substitute the old “core” for the distribution requirement.  The core consisted of four (4) required areas:

  1. 4115 Programming Languages and Translators
  2. 4118 Operating Systems
  3. 4231 Analysis of Algorithms
  4. 4824 Computer Architecture

Every doctoral student must pass all four (4) core areas, via either the course or its cumulative final exam, if the course offers one.  Core courses/exams may not be “imported” or “transferred” from other institutions, they must be taken in the Computer Science Department at Columbia University.

Last updated on July 9, 2014.