



HIGHLIGHTS Fall 2022-Spring 2023

Computer Science in the City of New York









MADE TO GRADUATING COMPUTER SCIENCE STUDENTS, 2022-2023

JONATHAN L. GROSS AWARD FOR ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE

This award was established in 2017 in honor of the much loved Professor Emeritus Jonathan Gross. Each year a cash gift is awarded to one graduating masters student and to one graduating senior from each of the four undergraduate schools served by the Computer Science Department.

Madison Fong, Barnard Anthony Ozerov, CC Cecilia Takacs, GS Ethan Wu, SEAS Tom Zollo. MS

COMPUTER SCIENCE SCHOLARSHIP AWARD

A cash prize awarded to two B.A. and two B.S. degree candidates for outstanding academic achievement in computer science.

Mitali Juneja, SEAS Joshua Holden Kapilian, SEAS Scott Kun Geng, CC William Hammond, CC

RUSSELL C. MILLS AWARD

This annual award, established by the Computer Science Department in 1992 in memory of Russell C. Mills, is a cash prize given to a Computer Science major who has exhibited excellence in the area of computer science.

Anthony Luo, SEAS Zifan Wang, GS Nicholas Reilly Greenspan, CC Oliver Li, CC

THEODORE R. BASHKOW AWARD

Presented to a Computer Science senior who has excelled in independent projects. This is awarded in honor of Professor Theodore R. Bashkow, whose contributions as a researcher, teacher, and consultant have significantly advanced the state of the art of computer science.

Bobby Hua, CC Shayan Hooshmand, CC

ANDREW P. KOSORESOW MEMORIAL AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING AND SERVICE

Awarded for outstanding contributions to teaching in the Computer Science Department and exemplary service to the department and its mission.

Haruki Gonai, SEAS Alexander Lindenbaum, SEAS Jasmine Lou. SEAS Neil Nie. SEAS Ege Ozguroglu, SEAS Xurxo Riesco, SEAS Maÿlis Whetsel, SEAS Tal Zussman, SEAS Eumin Hong, CC Kyle Alford, CC Dawson Franz. CC Mateo Maturana. CC Franck Mugisho, CC Ben Allison, MS Sourya Kakarla, MS Peter Liu. MS Adam Lin. PhD

BEHRING FOUNDATION AWARD

Awarded to undergraduate and/or graduate students enrolled at SEAS, who are pursuing a degree in Computer Science, that best exhibit academic excellence, have entrepreneurial interests, and possess leadership skills. Preference is given to students who have lived, worked, or studied in Brazil or other Latin American countries.

Angel Mancera Laura Castro Venegas

DAVIDE GIRI MEMORIAI PRIZE

Initiated in 2022, this prize is made annually to a graduate student in Computer Science who has combined excellence in research results with continued outstanding efforts to promote research collaboration. Examples of these efforts may include, but are not limited to, leading a large collaborative research project, mentoring students in their research projects, and sharing research outcomes as open-source artifacts in the public domain. The prize was established in memory of Dr. Davide Giri, who promoted research collaboration in an exemplary way as part of his doctoral studies while excelling as a researcher.

Jan Janak, PhD

PAUL CHARLES MICHELMAN MEMORIAL AWARD FOR EXEMPLARY SERVICE TO THE COMPUTER SCIENCE DEPARTMENT

Established November 2000. This award is given to a PhD student in Computer Science who has performed exemplary service to the department, devoting time and effort beyond the call to further the department's goals. It is given in memory of Dr. Paul Michelman, '93, who devoted himself to improving the department through service while excelling as a researcher.

Clavton Sanford, PhD

COMPUTER SCIENCE SERVICE AWARD

The faculty selects those doctoral students agreed to be in the top 10% in service contributions.

Andrea Clark-Sevilla Kahlil Dozier Sam Deng Huy Ha John Hui Andreas Kellas Tao Long Roland Maio Tim Randolph Clayton Sanford Hadleigh Schwartz

Raphael Sofaer

Sky Wang

FNGINFFRING AWARDS

Valedictorian Ethan Wu

Salutatorian Julia Zhao

Indelible Mark Karen Copeland

Principled Action Tal Zussman

Health and Wellness Trinity Sazo

Innovation and Enhancement

Kaya Dorogi Madeline Park

Civic Responsibility
Shruti Verma

Senior Marshals

Angel Mancer Trinity Sazo Silvia Toderas

School of Engineering and Applied Science Scholar Athlete Award

Elisa Luo











FALL 2022-SPRING 2023

CS@CU by the Numbers

1,342 CS majors

36%* of CS majors are women

17.108 CS class enrollments

- **62** Faculty
- 1 ACM A.M. Turing Award Winner
- 9 Elected to National Academy of Engineering
- 4 Elected to National Academy of Sciences
- 7 Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences
- 2 Elected to American Philosophical Society
- 3 Elected to National Academy of Inventors
- 1 Harvey Prize
- 3 IEEE John von Neumann Medal Winners
- 2 ACM/IEEE Knuth Prize Winners
- 3 AAAI Fellows
- 5 AAAS Fellows
- 3 ACL Fellows
- 4 Guggenheim Fellows
- 20 ACM Fellows
- 17 IEEE Fellows
- 1 Flected to Internet Hall of Fame
- 3 Packard Foundation Fellows
- 19 Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellows

NSF Awards: 4 PECASE, 39 CAREER, 2 NYI, and 4 PYI

*of the students reporting gender

