



HIGHLIGHTS Fall 2021-Spring 2022

Computer Science in the City of New York







MADE TO GRADUATING COMPUTER SCIENCE STUDENTS, 2021-2022

JONATHAN L. GROSS AWARD FOR ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE

This award was established in 2017 in honor of the much loved Professor Emeritus Jonathan Gross. Each year a cash gift is awarded to one graduating masters student and to one graduating senior from each of the four undergraduate schools served by the Computer Science Department.

George Cherian, MS Brian Yang, EN Nicolas Beltran, CC Zoe Vogelsang, BC Michelle Hur. GS

BEHRING FOUNDATION AWARD

Awarded to undergraduate and/or graduate students enrolled at SEAS, who are pursuing a degree in Computer Science, that best exhibit academic excellence, have entrepreneurial interests, and possess leadership skills. Preference is given to students who have lived, worked, or studied in Brazil or other Latin American countries.

Luiz Lemos do Valle Lucas Melo

COMPUTER SCIENCE SCHOLARSHIP AWARD

A cash prize awarded to two B.A. and two B.S. degree candidates for outstanding academic achievement in computer science.

Ishan Rajgarhia Justin Lee G Pershing Emily Ringel

RUSSELL C. MILLS AWARD

This annual award, established by the Computer Science Department in 1992 in memory of Russell C. Mills, is a cash prize given to a Computer Science major who has exhibited excellence in the area of computer science.

Samuel Raab Yuanyuting (Elaine) Wang Sabrina Jade Shih Kaiwen (Kevin) Xue

THEODORE R. BASHKOW AWARD

Presented to a Computer Science senior who has excelled in independent projects. This is awarded in honor of Professor Theodore R. Bashkow, whose contributions as a researcher, teacher, and consultant have significantly advanced the state of the art of computer science.

Antonio Camara

Desu Imudia

Annie Qin Sui

ANDREW P. KOSORESOW MEMORIAL AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING AND SERVICE

Awarded for outstanding contributions to teaching in the Computer Science Department and exemplary service to the department and its mission.

Mia Bramel
Yael Kelmer
Ariel Goldman
Chianna Cohen
Michael Jan
Kent John Hall
Evan Zauderer
Evan Tilley
Zeyu (Thomas) Liu
Xijiao Li
Andrea Clark-Sevilla
Guy Eichler
Kuan-lin Chiu
Maico Cassel Santos

PHD SERVICE AWARD

Joseph Zuckerman

The faculty selects those doctoral students agreed to be in the top 10% in service contributions.

Kahlil Dozier Samir Gadre Vivian Liu Roland Maio Jason Milionis Shivam Nadimpalli Clayton Sanford Sky Wang

DAVIDE GIRI MEMORIAL PRIZE

Initiated in 2022, this prize is made annually to a graduate student in Computer Science who has combined excellence in research results with continued outstanding efforts to promote research collaboration. Examples of these efforts may include, but are not limited to, leading a large collaborative research project, mentoring students in their research projects, and sharing research outcomes as open-source artifacts in the public domain. The prize was established in memory of Dr. Davide Giri, who promoted research collaboration in an exemplary way as part of his doctoral studies while excelling as a researcher.

Giannis Karamanolakis — for his excellent research in minimally-supervised knowledge extraction from text data and his outstanding research collaborations with the NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, with real-world impact on detecting and acting on foodborne illness outbreaks.

Ana-Andreea Stoica — for her excellent research in fairness of networks and her outstanding collaborations as the PC chair of the ACM Conference on Equity and Access in Algorithms, Mechanisms, and Optimization and as Co-chair of the Mechanism Design for Social Good, a multi-institutional initiative bringing together researchers and practitioners from over 130 institutions in 50 countries.

PAUL CHARLES MICHELMAN MEMORIAL AWARD FOR EXEMPLARY SERVICE TO THE COMPUTER SCIENCE DEPARTMENT

Established November 2000. This award is given to a PhD student in Computer Science who has performed exemplary service to the department, devoting time and effort beyond the call to further the department's goals. It is given in memory of Dr. Paul Michelman, '93, who devoted himself to improving the department through service while excelling as a researcher.

Katy Gero — for her many years of service to the Diversity Equity and Inclusion initiative, the Peer Application Review program, and as PhD representative to Women In Computer Science.

Tim Randolph — for his many years of service to the Emerging Scholars Program and the Peer Application Review program.

ENGINEERING AWARDS

Maya Venkatraman Salutatorian

James Wang

Thomas "Pop" Harrington Medal

Awarded to the student in the graduating class who best exemplifies the qualities of character that Professor Harrington exhibited during his forty years of teaching at the School of Engineering, from 1894 to 1935. Made possible by a very generous and deeply appreciated gift from Dr. Myron A. Coler 34, Ph.D. 37.

Ajit Akole

Bernard Jaffe Prize for the Encouragement of Inventiveness in Engineering

Awarded to an undergraduate or graduate Columbia Engineering student who exhibits exceptional curiosity toward the engineered world, a predisposition toward inventiveness, and creativity in nonengineering fields. Made possible by a generous gift from Fern Jaffe in memory of her husband, Bernard Jaffe '38, '39, whose life demonstrated a deep commitment to engineering, the creative arts, and the betterment of the human condition.

Pedro Barbosa Teixeira Santos School of Engineering and Applied Science Scholar Athlete Award

Presented by the Office of the Dean to a graduating Columbia Engineering student who has distinguished himself or herself as a varsity athlete and scholar.

Ethan Turok

King's Crown Leadership Excellence Awards - Community Building

Awarded to students who exhibit excellence in teaching and fostering a sense of community at Columbia.

Senior Marshals

Outstanding students of the senior class in good academic standing who have a record of contributing to their class, their school, and their community. They are distinguished by a gold aiguillette that adorns their robe.

Havi Nguyen James Wang

Senior Fund Committee

Ajit Akole Paul Cassoulat Raghav Mecheri









FALL 2021-SPRING 2022

CS@CU by the Numbers

#11 (tie), up from #13 (tie), in *US News and World Report* ranking of US Computer Science Departments

- **62** Faculty
- 1 ACM A.M. Turing Award Winner
- 9 Elected to National Academy of Engineering
- 4 Elected to National Academy of Sciences
- 7 Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences
- 1 Elected to American Philosophical Society
- 1 Elected to National Academy of Inventors
- 1 Harvey Prize
- 3 IFFF John von Neumann Medal Winners
- 2 ACM/IEEE Knuth Prize Winners
- 3 AAAI Fellows
- 5 AAAS Fellows
- 3 ACL Fellows
- 4 Guagenheim Fellows
- 20 ACM Fellows
- 17 IFFF Fellows
- 1 Elected to Internet Hall of Fame
- 3 Packard Foundation Fellows
- 18 Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellows

NSF Awards: 3 PECASE, 35 CAREER, 2 NYI, and 4 PYI

