



# HIGHLIGHTS Fall 2020-Spring 2021

### Computer Science in the City of New York





COLUMBIA ENGINEERING

### MADE TO GRADUATING COMPUTER SCIENCE STUDENTS, 2020-2021

#### JONATHAN L. GROSS AWARD FOR ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE

This award was established in 2017 in honor of the much loved Professor Emeritus Jonathan Gross. Each year a cash gift is awarded to one graduating masters student and to one graduating senior from each of the four undergraduate schools served by the Department of Computer Science.

Zhong Tian Ou Yang, MS Noah Huber-Feely, EN Mariya Delyakova, CC Aliza Isaacs, BC Romy Zilkha, GS

#### COMPUTER SCIENCE SCHOLARSHIP AWARD

A cash prize awarded to two B.A. and two B.S. degree candidates for outstanding academic achievement in computer science.

Shvetank Prakash, EN Udai G. Nagpal, EN Andrew Elzayn, CC William Lingxiao Tong, CC

#### RUSSELL C. MILLS AWARD

This annual award, established by the computer science department in 1992 in memory of Russell C. Mills, is a cash prize given to a computer science major who has exhibited excellence in the area of computer science.

Maya Venkatraman, EN Colin Donovan Brown, EN Ahmed Sheta, CC Colin Burns, CC

#### THEODORE R. BASHKOW AWARD

Presented to a computer science senior who has excelled in independent projects. This is awarded in honor of Professor Theodore R. Bashkow, whose contributions as a researcher, teacher, and consultant have significantly advanced the state of the art of computer science.

Sarah Ann Radway, CC Yanda Chen, EN Jack Junyao Shi, EN Janet Zhang, EN Huy Ha, EN

PAUL CHARLES MICHELMAN MEMORIAL AWARD

For exemplary service to the department

Chris Kedzie

#### ANDREW P. KOSORESOW MEMORIAL AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING AND SERVICE

Awarded for outstanding contributions to teaching in the Department of Computer Science and exemplary service to the Department and its mission.

Timothy Vallancourt, CC Eli Goldin, CC Amir Idris, CC Lucie le Blanc, BC Spencer Bruce, EN Hans Jr Montero, EN Feiyang Yu, EN Ongun Uzay Macar, EN Garrison Grogan, MS Hollis Marin Lehv, MS Samuel Deng, MS

#### PHD COMPUTER SCIENCE SERVICE AWARD

For contributions to community life within the department

Kahlil Dozier Carmine Elvezio Katy Gero Roland Maio Tim Randolph

### COLUMBIA Engineering Awards

Valedictorian Noah Huber-Feely

Illig Prize Noah Huber-Feely

Thomas "Pop" Harrington Medal Amanda Zong

> Senior Marshalls Kathy Lau Hans Montero Bret Silverstein Alina Ying











#### FALL 2020-SPRING 2021

# CS@CU by the Numbers

## **#13** (tie), up from #15 (tie), in *US News and World Report* ranking of US Computer Science Departments

1,858 CS majors12,665 CS class enrollments44%\* of CS majors are women

#### 61 Faculty

- 1 ACM A.M. Turing Award Winner
- 9 Elected to National Academy of Engineering
- 2 Elected to National Academy of Sciences
- 7 Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences
- 1 Elected to American Philosophical Society
- 1 Elected to National Academy of Inventors
- 1 Harvey Prize
- 3 IEEE John von Neumann Medal Winners
- 2 ACM/IEEE Knuth Prize Winners
- **3** AAAI Fellows
- 5 AAAS Fellows
- 3 ACL Fellows
- 4 Guggenheim Fellows
- 19 ACM Fellows
- 17 IEEE Fellows
- 1 Elected to Internet Hall of Fame
- 3 Packard Foundation Fellows
- 16 Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellows
- NSF Awards: 3 PECASE, 32 CAREER, 2 NYI, and 4 PYI

\*of 1,124 undergraduate students reporting gender



KEEP UP WITH CS@CU NEWS AT WWW.CS.COLUMBIA.EDU