Call for Papers

The Third International Conference on Embedded Software (EMSOFT)

In cooperation with the ACM

October 13–15, 2003 Philadephia, Pennsylvania, USA

www.emsoft.org

This conference aims to bring together researchers and developers from academia, industry, and government to advance the science, engineering, and technology of embedded software development. EMSOFT was started two years ago with focus on principles of embedded software development and aims at covering all aspects of embedded software. The first meeting was held as a conference with only invited speakers, and was sponsored by DARPA and NSF at Lake Tahoe in October 2001. The second meeting held in October 2002 in Grenoble, France, had a mix of invited and contributed papers with over 150 participants spanning different areas.

Submissions are invited in all areas of embedded software, including

- Programming languages and software engineering
- System design and integration methodologies
- Models of computation and formal methods
- Operating systems and middleware
- Architectures and compilers
- Scheduling and execution time analysis
- Communication protocols and fault tolerance
- Hardware/software codesign and systems-on-chip
- Applications such as embedded control, smart sensors, and multimedia

The conference proceedings will be published in the Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science series (see volumes 2211 and 2491 for past proceedings). Selected papers will be invited after the meeting to submit an extended version to a special issue of ACM Transactions on Embedded Computer Systems.

Submitted papers must present original, unpublished research that has not been submitted elsewhere. Papers should be prepared using Springer's LNCS style (see http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html), and must be at most 16 pages including abstract, figures, appendices, and bibliography. Instructions for submitting the papers electronically will be available on the conference webpage in March.

Submission deadline	April 18, 2003
Notification of acceptance	June 16, 2003
Final version due	July 15, 2003

Invited Speakers

- Alan Burns Alain Deutsch Kim Larsen Joseph Loyall Keith Moore Greg Spirakis
- University of York, UK Polyspace Technologies Aalborg University, Denmark BBN Technologies Hewlett-Packard Intel

Co-Chairs

Rajeev Alur, University of Pennsylvania Insup Lee, University of Pennsylvania

Local Organization Oleg Sokolsky, University of Pennsylvania

Publicity Stephen Edwards, Columbia University

Program Committee

Rajeev Alur, University of Pennsylvania Albert Benveniste, IRISA/INRIA Giorgio Buttazzo, University of Pavia Rolf Ernst, Technical Univ of Braunschweig Hans Hansson, Malardalen University, Sweden Kane Kim, University of California at Irvine Hermann Kopetz, Technical University of Vienna Luciano Lavagno, Politecnico di Torino Edward Lee, University of California, Berkeley Insup Lee, University of Pennsylvania Sharad Malik, Princeton University Jens Palsberg, Purdue University Martin Rinard, MIT Heonshik Shin, Seoul National University Kang Shin, University of Michigan John Stankovic, University of Virginia Janos Sztipanovits, Vanderbilt University Wayne Wolf, Princeton University Sergio Yovine, Verimag

Steering Committee

Gerard Berry, Esterel Technologies Tom Henzinger, University of California, Berkeley Hermann Kopetz, Technical University of Vienna Edward Lee, University of California, Berkeley Ragunathan Rajkumar, Carnegie Mellon University Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli,

University of California, Berkeley Douglas Schmidt, DARPA Joseph Sifakis, Verimag John Stankovic, University of Virginia Reinhard Wilhelm, Universitat des Saarlandes Wayne Wolf, Princeton University