Current PhD Students

  1. Ang Cui (ang.cui@gmail.com)
    "Symbiotic Embedded Machine and Embedded Device Insecurity"
  2. Nathaniel Boggs (boggs@cs.columbia.edu)
    The Science of Security
  3. Adrian Tang (atang@cs.columbia.edu)
    Hardware security
  4. David Tagatac (dtagatac@cs.columbia.edu)
    Symbiote defense against concurrency attacks
  5. Yuan Kang (yuanjk@cs.columbia.edu)
    Symbiotes and self-monitoring monitors
  6. Peter Du (du@cs.columbia.edu )
    Cloud Security
  7. Jill Jermyn (jill@cs.columbia.edu)
    Decoy technology for Android Apps

PhD Graduates

  1. Daniel Miranker (miranker@cs.utexas.edu) Professor, Univ Texas at Austin
    "Treat: A New and Efficient Match Algorithm for AI Production Systems," 1987.
  2. Stephen Taylor (taylor@cs.dartmouth.edu) Professor, Dartmouth College
    "Parallel Logic Programming Systems (Completed at Technion)," 1987.
  3. Alexander Pasik (alexander@pasik.net)
    "A Methodology for Programming Production Systems and Its Implications on Parallelism," 1989.
  4. Michael van Biema (michael@cs.columbia.edu)
    "Constraint-Based Invocation: Integrating the Object-Oriented and Rule-Based Paradigms," 1990.
  5. Russell Mills (degree awarded posthumously)
    "llC: A Hierarchial Parallel Programming Language," 1992.
  6. Nathaniel Polish (polish@npsa.com) DTG Group
    "Mixed Distance Measures for the Optimization of Concatenative Vocubularies in Speech Synthesis," 1993.
  7. Hasanat Dewan (dewan@morgan.com)
    "Runtime Reorganization of Parallel and Distributed Expert Database Systems," 1994.
  8. Jason Glazier (glazier@tfn.com) Thompson Financial
    " Dynamic Neighborhood Bounding: An Error Reduction Technique for Monte Carlo Simulation," 1994.
  9. David Espinosa (espinosa@kestrel.edu) Kestrel Institute
    "Semantic Lego: A Modular Theory of Interpreters," 1995.
  10. Mauricio Hernandez (mauricio@cs.columbia.edu) IBM Almaden
    "A Generalization of Band Join and its Application to the Merge/Purge Problem," 1996.
  11. Philip Chan (pkc@cs.fit.edu) Professor, Florida Tech
    "An Extensible Meta-Learning Approach for Scalable and Accurate Inductive Learning," 1997.
  12. David Ohsie (ohsie@smarts.com) Smarts
    "Codebook-based Fault Diagnosis in Network Management," 1998.
  13. Andreas Prodromidis (andreas@cs.columbia.edu) Director of Research, www.iprivacy.com
    "Efficiency and Scalability of Distributed Data Mining, Pruning and Bridging Multiple Models," 1998.
  14. Wenke Lee (wenke@cs.columbia.edu) Professor, GA Tech
    "A Data Mining Framework for Constructing Features and Models for Intrusion Detection Systems," 1999.
  15. Dave (Wei) Fan (wfan@cs.columbia.edu) IBM Hawthorne research
    "Cost-sensitive, scalable adaptive learning," 2000.
  16. Eleazar Eskin (the Zar) (eeskin@cs.columbia.edu) Professor, UCLA
    "Probabilistic methods in Intrusion Detection and Genomics," 2002.
  17. Shlomo Hershkop (shlomo@cs.columbia.edu)
    "The Yank Spam Detection System," 2004.
  18. German Creamer (gcreamer@cs.columbia.edu) Professor, Steven Institute of Technology
    "On the use of boosting in financial prediction," (co-advisor: Y. Freund) 2005.
  19. Ke Wang (kewang@google.com) Google
    "Network Payload-based Anomaly Detection and Content-based Alert Correlation," 2006.
  20. Janak Parekh (janak@cs.columbia.edu) Google
    "Privacy-preserving Distributed Event Corroboration," 2007.
  21. Wei-Jen Li (wei-jen@cs.columbia.edu) Goldman Sachs
    "Malcode-bearing Documents", 2008.
  22. Vanessa Friaz-Martinez (vf2001@cs.columbia.edu) Telefonica, Spain
    "Behavior-based Access Control," 2008.
  23. Gabriela Cretu (mailto:gabriela@rti.com) RTI
    "STAND Anomaly Detection Learning Strategies," 2009.
  24. Brian Bowen (bmbowen@cs.columbia.edu) Sandia National Labs
    "Decoy Networking," 2010.
  25. Malek Ben Salem (Malek@cs.columbia.edu)
    "Insider Threat, 2011"
  26. Yingbo Song (yingbo@cs.columbia.edu)
    "Privatizing Network Traces, 2012"

Color Code

  • Starting on PhD (energetically)
  • Nearly Ready to Complete PhD (maybe)
  • Almost Completed PhD (hopefully)
  • Completed PhD (finally)