Digital Government Research Center
Evaluation Board Meeting
April 5, 2002
8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

DGRC Evaluation Board Members

External Evaluation Board:

Angela Aidala aaa1@columbia.edu

Associate Research Scientist, Sociomedical Science, Columbia University
 
Christine Borgman cborgman@ucla.edu
Professor, Information Sciences, UCLA
 
Ernie Boyko eboyko@statcan.ca
Director, Library and Information Centre at Statistics Canada
 
Larry Brandt

lbrandt@nsf.gov

Program Director, Digital Government Division, NSF
 
Cynthia Clark cynthia.z.f.clark@census.gov
Associate Director for Methodology and Standards, the Census Bureau
 
Fred Conrad conrad_f@bls.gov
Senior Research Psychologist, Bureau of Labor Statistics
 
Sharon Dawes sdawes@ctg.albany.edu
Director, Center for Technology in Government, University at Albany
 
Cathryn S. Dippo dippo_c@bls.gov
Associate Commissioner for Survey Methods Research
 
David Epstein de11@columbia.edu
Associate Professor, Political Science, Columbia University
 
Ann Green ann.green@yale.edu
Director, Social Science Research Services and Statistical Laboratory, Yale University
 
Valerie Gregg vgregg@nsf.gov
Program Manager, Digital Government Division, NSF
 
Carol A. Hert cahert@syr.edu
Assistant Professor, School of Information Studies, Syracuse University
 
Gary Marchionini march@ils.unc.edu
Professor, Information and Library Science,
University of North Carolina
 
David Millman dsm@columbia.edu
Director, Academic Information Systems, Columbia University
 
Frank Moretti fmoretti@columbia.edu
Director, Columbia Center for New Media Teaching and Learning, Columbia University
 
Christy Norman

cn2005@columbia.edu

Research Director, Electronic Publishing Initiative at Columbia
 
Michael Schober schober@newschool.edu
Professor, Graduate Faculty for Political and Social Science, New School for Social Research
 
Dagobert Soergel

ds@umail.umd.edu

Professor, College of Information Studies, University of Maryland
 
Sue Stendebach

sstendeb@nsf.gov

Program Manager, Digital Government Research Program, NSF
 
John Weiner

john.weiner@eia.doe.gov

Director, National Energy Information Center, U.S. Dept. of Energy
 
Kate Wittenberg kw49@columbia.edu
Director, Electronic Publishing Initiative at Columbia
 

 

 

 

DGRC Researchers

ISI

Jose-Luis Ambite ambite@isi.edu
Senior Research Scientist, ISI
 
Yigal Arens arens@isi.edu
Director, Intelligent Systems Division, ISI
 
Ed Hovy hovy@isi.edu
Natural Language Group Head, ISI
 
Andrew Philpot philpot@isi.edu
Research Scientist, ISI
 

Columbia:

Walter Bournewalter@columbia.edu
Assistant Director, Academic Information Systems
 
Peter Davis ptd7@cs.columbia.edu
Graduate Student, Computer Science
 
Junyan Ding jd417@columbia.edu
Graduate Student, Computer Science
 
Steve Feiner feiner@cs.columbia.edu
Professor, Computer Science
 
Nicole Fox nicfox@columbia.edu
User Services Consultant, Academic Information Systems
 
Judith Klavans klavans@cs.columbia.edu
Director, Center for Research on Information Access
 
Samuel Popper shmuel@bigfoot.com
Graduate Student, Computer Science
 
Ken Ross kar@cs.columbia.edu
Associate Professor, Computer Science Department
 
Juling Shih juling 450@hotmail.com
Teachers College Ed.D. student, Communication and Education
 
Peter Sommer sommer@columbia.edu
Director, Institute for Technology for Teaching and Learning
 
Sal Stolfo sal@cs.columbia.edu
Professor, Computer Science Department
 
Surabhan Temiyabutr st234@cs.columbia.edu

Program and Interface Designer, Digital Government Research Center

 
Jane Weintrop weintrop@columbia.edu
Head of Electronic Data Services
 
Jane Winlandwinland@columbia.edu
Director, Social Science Libraries
 
Laura Zadoff lbz13@columbia.edu
M.A. student, Instructional Technology and Media, Teachers College
 

Evaluation Board Meeting Attendees

Angela Aidala aaa1@columbia.edu

Associate Research Scientist, Sociomedical Science, Columbia University
 
Yigal Arens arens@isi.edu
Director, Intelligent Systems Division, ISI
 
Walter Bourne walter@columbia.edu
Assistant Director, Academic Information Systems, Columbia University
 
Cynthia Clark cynthia.z.f.clark@census.gov
Associate Director for Methodology and Standards, the Census Bureau
 
Peter Davis ptd7@cs.columbia.edu
Graduate Student, Computer Science, Columbia University
 
Sharon Dawes sdawes@ctg.albany.edu
Director, Center for Technology in Government, University at Albany
 
Junyan Ding jd417@columbia.edu
Director, Center for Technology in Government, University at Albany
 
Steve Feiner feiner@cs.columbia.edu
Professor, Computer Science, Columbia University
 
Ann Green ann.green@yale.edu
Director, Social Science Research Services and Statistical Laboratory, Yale University
 
Valerie Gregg vgregg@nsf.gov
Program Manager, Digital Government Division, NSF
 
Judith Klavans klavans@cs.columbia.edu
Director, Center for Research on Information Access, Columbia University
 
Bill McAllister wm134@columbia.edu
Senior Research Scientist, ISERP
 
Christy Norman cn2005@columbia.edu
Research Director, Electronic Publishing Initiative at Columbia
 
Samuel Popper shmuel@bigfoot.com
Graduate Student, Computer Science, Columbia University
 
Ken Ross kar@cs.columbia.edu
Associate Professor, Computer Science Department, Columbia University
 
Michael Schober schober@newschool.edu
Professor, Graduate Faculty for Political and Social Science, New School for Social Research
 
John Scialdone jscialdo@ciesin.columbia.edu
Senior Metadata Specialist CIESIN
 
Juling Shih juling 450@hotmail.com
Teachers College Ed.D. student, Communication and Education, Columbia University
 
Mariko Silver ms2272@columbia.edu
Technology and Policy Specialist, Office of the Executive Vice Provost, Columbia University
 
Laura Slaughter lauras@umd.edu
Graduate Student, University of Maryland
 
Dagobert Soergel ds@umail.umd.edu
Professor, College of Information Studies, University of Maryland
 
Peter Sommer sommer@columbia.edu
Director, Institute for Technology for Teaching and Learning, Columbia University
 
Sue Stendebach

sstendeb@nsf.gov
Program Manager, Digital Government Research Program, NSF
 
Surabhan Temiyabutr st234@cs.columbia.edu

Program and Interface Designer, Digital Government Research Center, Columbia University

 
John Weiner john.weiner@eia.doe.gov
Director, National Energy Information Center, U.S. Dept. of Energy
 
Jane Weintrop weintrop@columbia.edu
Head of Electronic Data Services, Columbia University
 
Jane Winlandwinland@columbia.edu
Director, Social Science Libraries
 
Kate Wittenberg kw49@columbia.edu
Director, Electronic Publishing Initiative at Columbia
 
Laura Zadoff lbz13@columbia.edu
M.A. student, Instructional Technology and Media, Teachers College, Columbia University
 
Evie Zambetakis ez2008@columbia.edu
Project Coordinator, Strategic Initiatives
Office of the Executive Vice Provost, Columbia University
 

 

 

 

 

 

This page is: www.cs.columbia.edu/digigov/2002-External-Evaluation-Meeting/people.html